A bug affecting 800,000 Facebook users briefly unblocked people they had barred from contacting them, the company revealed Monday. Facebook said that the blocked users could access the profile of a user who had blocked them before and could see their posts and message them.
It isn't clear when Facebook discovered the bug or how many people were actually contacted by the people they'd blocked.
When a user blocks someone on Facebook, it severs the connection between their accounts, and prohibits the other person from seeing their posts.
Charlie Nash is a reporter for Breitbart Tech.
If you block someone on Facebook, you probably want them to... you know, stay blocked.
Mind you, they couldn't see private posts, or posts you'd only shared with your friends.
The bug pertains to an issue related to the blocking function. However, the remaining 17 percent of people have had more than one person unblocked.
While only affecting a small percentage of Facebook's 2.4 billion users around the world, the glitch makes troubling reading for those who use the blocking feature as a method of escaping harassment on the platform.
Facebook replied, by saying that blocked lists comes under "associations", which are stored in pairs.
Facebook is informing its 800,000 users about a bug that caused the company system to unblock some of the blocked people.
If you've ever blocked anyone on Facebook, the social network may have accidentally "unblocked" that person on your behalf.
Social media giant Facebook sent out notifications to over 8,00,000 users regarding a bug on the social media site and Messenger that automatically unblocked some people on a user's blocked list.