The feature is in the latest version of the Messenger app on iOS and Android, Facebook said Tuesday. There was a bit of an uproar at the time, and Facebook later said that Zuck's disappearing messages were part of an "unsend" feature the company was testing.
There are a few caveats though - you can only remove a message within 10 minutes of sending it and everyone else in the conversation will see a placeholder notice saying you removed a message.
Tapping the Remove option will then offer two options: "Remove for Everyone" and "Remove for You".
So, to be clear, the current "delete" option on Facebook Messenger only removes the message for you-the recipient can still see it. Pretty self-explanatory here, but if you tap the "Remove for Everyone" option it will unsend the message.
Following this report, Facebook announced a year ago that it would publicly launch the feature for its users, though did not specify a launch date. In it, the social media giant notes you can now remove any message that you've previously typed from a text.
But it does let you erase any messages that may have typos, were sent to the wrong person or that you may regret after-the-fact.
Facebook has added a new feature to its messaging platform that allows users to unsend messages. Florencia Herra-Vega, the CTO of encrypted messaging app Peerio, told Business Insider via message.
For more than a year, Facebook has been struggling to handle problems plaguing the world's largest media network, including accusations of the company's failure to protect its user data from allegedly being used to influence the USA 2016 presidential elections, presence of hatred and extremist speeches on the platform, and the leakage of user privacy in hacking attacks.